2 year Canniversery

Yes I know I’m late (around 2 weeks late). I did do an update on BE Forum but it must have just slipped my mind on here.

It’s been a year of up and downs. The main up was getting my Permenant Residency and finally knowing that I’m no longer in limbo with another person’s decision. 

Work is also going well and I’m happy for the moment although I do need to start thinking about upgrading my education. As much as I’d love to do Social Work BA, it’s pointless as it will just get me where I am now and I doubt they will allow me to do a Masters without a BA in Socialology, Psychology, Criminology or some other social science – I doubt they count Graphic Design as such.

The other issue is I’m just not in the right mind set to be going back to school. I wish Canada were more about vocational qualifications on the job rather then all the academic stuff. My organization gives me $350 towards professional development each year and I have found an Adult Probation online course with 4 assignments that is pre-requisite to becoming a Probation Officer. Youth Justice and criminality is an area I’m interested in so I have nothing to lose as the course is only $280.

Another area for improvement for the next year is to travel more and take more holiday. My last vacation was in January and apart from long weekends in Birch Bay, I havnt had a proper break. This is due to change at the end of the month and you have no idea how excited I am. It has been great to plan trips as I used to when I went to Australia, South Africa and Asia.

I’m also planning a trip back to the UK in February (I feel the homesickness + ive ran out of freddo bars) and a trip in July to another area in Canada. It woukd be great if I could just start planing to go to all the places I want to go to.

One of the downs I have experienced is I’m becoming fed up with Vancouver. Don’t get me wrong, I love all the scenery, snowboarding in the winter and the outdoors but the city itself is expensive and pretentious. I’m never going to be able to afford a house here so it means moving outside of the city or to another area of BC; I also havnt ruled out relocating to another province but that’s a big step.

It will be interesting to see what  year 3 will bring but I know that more travelling, more snowboarding and more fun is needed. 

Leave a Reply

